Prepare for C25K.

I know what you’re thinking . . . is this another conspiracy theory similar to the Y2K millennium bug scare? Not at all.

I can weight train all day, and I love the muscle-building routines that I’m enjoying with P90X, but regarding my cardiovascular health, I’m in bad, bad shape. I get winded walking up a few flights of stairs. It’s just embarrassing.

Enter: Couch to 5K. My neighbor Kadee started this 9-week running program early last year and she is now running 1/2 marathons (and has lost a TON of weight). I have been amazed with her success, and I think she’d tell you that she was in NO better shape than I am when she got started.

I’m only one week into this nine-week program and I love it. The weather has been beautiful, so it’s a great time to get outside and push yourself.

Are you ready? See below for tips . . .

mind over moo tip no. 3

Try the Couch to 5K program for two weeks. Just try it! The first week is so easy. It’s basically a 5 minute warm-up walk, then alternating 60-second runs and 90-second walks, and then a 5-minute cool down. (I am actually doing 90-second runs and 60-second walks because I needed more of a challenge, and I’m considering skipping forward a couple of weeks.)

A few pointers:

  • Purchase the C25K iPhone app HERE. The app will keep track of time for you and give you voice prompts so you’ll know what to do, (ex. “walk” “run” “5-minute cool down”). It also allows you to import songs from your iTunes on your phone into a playlist that you can listen to your music while you run. (The prompts just chime in over your music.) Additionally, you can link it to your Facebook or Twitter and post information about your workouts to share with others.
  • Buy a good armband for your smart phone. I got this one at Academy for just $14.99
  • Buy some good headphone earbuds that will stay in place. Mine were only $6.00!
  • STAY ON SCHEDULE with the plan! You can do it!

. . . and my biggest word of advice: DON’T WORRY ABOUT WHAT PEOPLE THINK. Okay, so maybe you can’t get out and run for 30-45 minutes straight. Who cares? This isn’t a contest. Your neighbors aren’t laughing at you, and if they are, they’re probably doing it while they’re chowing down on a box of Twinkies. Just do your best, and forget the rest.

About susancloud

Christ follower. Baby maker. Wifey. Producer of the Mark Davis Show. Musician. Lover of all things Bill Kristol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prepare for C25K.

  1. gusterbrown says:

    I can’t run. 😦 But, I saw your facebook post about this app and I purchased it today. I’m going out of town this weekend, so I’m going to start on Monday. I’m sure going to give this a shot, because I need to find something I can do that is free and that I can do before David goes to work. My cardiovascular health leaves a lot to be desired, too. I get winded briskly walking around the house, if I’m talking on the phone at the same time. Sad. Thanks for this blog, it is motivating!

Leave a Reply

